Africa continent countries

Africa is the second largest continent in the Earth. It is surrounded by large areas of water, and 14.7% of the world’s population lives there. It is thought to be the continent where the first humans evolved.

The continent is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, the Isthmus of Suez and the Red Sea to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The continent includes Madagascar and various archipelagos. The majority of the continent and its countries are in the Northern Hemisphere, with a substantial portion and number of countries in the Southern Hemisphere.

There total 54 number of independent states in Africa. The transcontinental country in this region is Egypt, also having a small part of its territory in Asia.

Among the African countries the biggest one is Algeria, occupying around 7% of the continent’s territory. And the smallest nation is Seychelles, It the worldwide famous luxurious beach holiday destination, occupying 115 islands stretching along the mainland’s eastern coast.

Africa Continent Countries

Country Capital
Algeria Algiers
Angola Luanda
BeninPorto NovoBotswanaGaborone
Burundi Bujumbura
Burkina Faso Ouagadougou
Cameroon Yaoundé
Cape Verde Praia
Central African Republic Bangui
Chad N’Djamena
Comoros Moroni
Cote d’Ivoire Yamoussoukro
DR Congo Kinshasa
Djibouti Djibouti City
Egypt Cairo
Equatorial Guinea Malabo
Eritrea Asmara
Ethiopia Addis Ababa
Gabon Libreville
Gambia Banjul
Ghana Accra
Guinea Conakry
Guinea-Bissau Bissau
Kenya Nairobi
Lesotho Maseru
Liberia Monrovia
Libya Tripoli
Madagascar Antananarivo
Malawi Lilongwe
Mali Bamako
Mauritania Nouakchott
Mauritius Port Louis
Morocco Rabat
Mozambique Maputo
Namibia Windhoek
Niger Niamey
Nigeria Abuja
Republic of the Congo Brazzaville
Réunion Saint-Denis
Rwanda Kigali
São Tomé and Principe São Tomé
Senegal Dakar
Seychelles Victoria
Sierra Leone Freetown
Somalia Mogadishu
South Africa Pretoria
South Sudan Juba
Sudan Khartoum
Swaziland Mbabane
Tanzania Dodoma
Togo Lomé
Tunisia Tunis
Uganda Kampala
Zambia Lusaka
Zimbabwe Harare