Australia Continent

Australia continent is the smallest among the 7 continents and the 6th largest country in the world. It called as Oceania, it is surrounded by the Indian, Southern and Pacific Oceans. It includes the entire Australian mainland, such big islands as New Zealand, Tasmania, New Guinea only its eastern half, and many thousands of tiny, tropical islands of Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia regions, scattered throughout the South Pacific.

There are 14 independent countries and some other dependent overseas territories. The largest sovereign state is Australia, occupying about 86% of the region’s total area. The smallest independent country is Nauru, which is so tiny that you need less than an hour to drive around it.

The most visited tourist places in this part of the world are the Australian cities of Sydney and Melbourne, the famous beach resorts of the Gold Coast. The best natural attraction is the Great Barrier Reef, and popular island holiday destinations are Fiji and Bora Bora.

Australia continent

Countries of Australia Continent

The countries 14 independent countries with their Capitals

  1. Australia – Canberra
  2. Federated States of Micronesia – Palikir
  3. Fiji – suva
  4. Kiribati – South Tarawa
  5. Marshall Islands – Majuro
  6. Nauru – no capital; biggest city is Yaren
  7. New Zealand – Wellington
  8. Palau – Melekeok
  9. Papua New Guinea – Port Moresby
  10. Samoa – Apia
  11. Solomon Islands – Honiara
  12. Tonga – Nuku’alofa
  13. Tuvalu – Funafuti
  14. Vanuatu – Port Vila

Australasia is not a politically designated region. It is a natural region of islands designated by its geology, geography, botany and zoology. It is also an ecozone.

  • Australia
  • Flores
  • Lombok
  • Melanesia
  • New Caledonia
  • New Guinea
  • Sulawesi
  • Sumbawa
  • Timor