List of Booker prize winners

Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize commonly known as the Booker Prize is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original fiction novel, written in the English language and published in the UK regardless of the nationality of the author. The booker prize was instituted in 1969. Hilary Mantel is the first woman and the first British author to win the prize twice. JM Coetzee was the first person to win the Booker prize twice in 1983 and again in 1999. Arundhati Roy is the first Indian to win Booker prize for The God of Small Things. The prize money for the Booker Prize was originally £21,000, with the sponsorship of the Man Group, it was raised to £50,000 in 2002.

booker prize winners

List of Booker prize winners and their books

Title Author Year
Something to Answer For P. H. Newby 1969
The Elected Member Bernice Rubens 1970
Troubles J. G. Farrell 1970 (Awarded in 2010)
In a Free State V. S. Naipaul 1971
G. John Berger 1972
The Siege of Krishnapur J. G. Farrell 1973
The Conservationist and Holiday Nadine Gordimer and stanley middleton 1974
Heat and Dust Ruth Prawer Jhabvala 1975
Saville David Storey 1976
Staying On Paul Scott 1977
The Sea, the Sea Iris Murdoch 1978
Offshore Penelope Fitzgerald 1979
Rites of Passage William Golding 1980
Midnight’s Children Salman Rushdie 1981
Schindler’s Ark Thomas Keneally 1982
Life & Times of Michael K J. M. Coetzee 1983
Hotel du Lac Anita Brookner 1984
The Bone People Keri Hulme 1985
The Old Devils Kingsley Amis 1986
Moon Tiger Penelope Lively 1987
Oscar and Lucinda Peter Carey 1988
The Remains of the Day Kazuo Ishiguro 1989
Possession: A Romance A. S. Byatt 1990
The Famished Road Ben Okri 1991
The English Patient and Sacred Hunger Michael Ondaatje and Barry Unsworth 1992
Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha Roddy Doyle 1993
How late it was, how late James Kelman 1994
The Ghost Road Pat Barker 1995
Last Orders Graham Swift 1996
The God of Small Things Arundhati Roy 1997
Amsterdam Ian McEwan 1998
Disgrace J. M. Coetzee 1999
The Blind Assassin Margaret Atwood 2000
True History of the Kelly Gang Peter Carey 2001
Life of Pi Yann Martel 2002
Vernon God Little DBC Pierre 2003
The Line of Beauty Alan Hollinghurst 2004
The Sea John Banville 2005
The Inheritance of Loss Kiran Desai 2006
The Gathering Anne Enright 2007
The White Tiger Aravind Adiga 2008
Wolf Hall Hilary Mantel 2009
The Finkler Question Howard Jacobson 2010
The Sense of an Ending Julian Barnes 2011
Bring Up the Bodies Hilary Mantel 2012
The Luminaries Eleanor Catton 2013
The Narrow Road to the Deep North Richard Flanagan 2014
A Brief History of Seven Killings Marlon James 2015
The Sellout Paul Beatty 2016
Lincoln in the Bardo George Saunders 2017