Meghalaya State Symbols

Meghalaya State is a hilly state in northeastern India. Meghalaya covers an area of approximately 22,430 square kilometers. It is bounded to the south by the Bangladeshi divisions of Mymensingh and Sylhet, to the west by the Bangladeshi division of Rangpur, and to the north and east by India’s State of Assam. Shillong is the state capital city. During the British rule of India, the British imperial authorities nicknamed it the “Scotland of the East”. It was previously part of Assam, but on 21 January 1972, the districts of Khasi, Garo and Jaintia hills became the new state of Meghalaya.

70% of the state is forested. The Meghalaya subtropical forests ecoregion encompasses the state; its mountain forests are distinct from the lowland tropical forests to the north and south. The forests are notable for their biodiversity of mammals, birds, and plants.

The principal languages in Meghalaya is Khasi, Pnar and Garo with English as the official language of the State. It was at the initiative of the Christian missionaries that the Khasi, Pnar and Garo languages and literature have developed and emerged in the list of Modern Indian Languages. The Khasi language is believed to be one of the very few surviving dialects of the Mon-khmer family of languages in India today.

State Symbols

Following are the State Symbols of Meghalaya. The State Government have revealed four symbols to be used in acceptable places and acceptable occasions to represent the state. These symbols the image of the state categorical its policy.

State Animal

Clouded Leopard

meghalaya state animal Clouded Leopard

State Bird

Hill Myna

Common Hill Myna

Scientific name : Gracula religiosa

State Flower

Lady Slipper Orchid

Lady Slipper Orchid

State Tree


Gmelina arborea