National Flag of India

The National Flag of India was first adopted in its present form on the 22nd of July in 1947 in the meeting of Constituent Assembly, Few days before the independence of the country from British rule on 15th of August in 1947. It was designed by Pingali Venkayya using tricolors, Ashok Chakra, and Khadi cloth. India flag is designed using three colors such as:

  1. Deep saffron (topmost)
  2. White (middle)
  3. India green (lowermost).
  4. The middle white color contains navy blue Ashoka Chakra.

National Flag of India

  • Saffron Colour: The topmost part of the national flag is designed using a saffron color which indicates courage and selflessness of the nation.
  • White Colour: The middle part of the Indian national flag is designed using a white color which represents the honesty, purity, and peace of the nation. According to Indian philosophy, White color also represents cleanliness and knowledge. It lightens the path of truth to guide the nation.
  • Green Colour: The lowermost part of the Indian national flag is designed using the green color which represents the faith, fertility, and prosperity of the nation. According to the philosophy of India, Green color is a festive and stabilizing color that represents life and happiness. It indicates the greenery of the earth all over India.

Ashoka Chakra and 24 Spokes Refers

According to the Hindu religion, all the 24 spokes of the national Flag represents the Life means The Dharma which is as follows:

  1. Love.
  2. Courage.
  3. Patience.
  4. Peacefulness.
  5. Magnanimity.
  6. Goodness.
  7. Faithfulness.
  8. Gentleness.
  9. Selflessness.
  10. Self-Control.
  11. Self Sacrifice.
  12. Truthfulness.
  13. Righteousness.
  14. Justice.
  15. Mercy.
  16. Gracefulness.
  17. Humility.
  18. Empathy.
  19. Sympathy.
  20. Spiritual Knowledge.
  21. Moral Values.
  22. Spiritual Wisdom.
  23. Fear of God.
  24. Faith or Belief or Hope.

Design and Construction National Flag of India

  • According to the Flag code of India, the Indian flag has a ratio of two by three. All three stripes of the flag are to be equal in width and length.
  • The size of the Ashoka Chakra is not specified in the Flag code, but it has twenty-four spokes that are evenly spaced.
  • In section 4.3.1 of “IS1: Manufacturing standards for the Indian Flag”, there is a chart that details the size of the Ashoka Chakra on the nine specific sizes of the national flag.
  • In both the Flag code and IS1, they call for the Ashoka Chakra to be printed or painted on both sides of the flag in navy blue.