North America Countries

Countries in North America Continent

North America is one of the continent of 7 in this planet, It surrounded by the Arctic Ocean from the north and by the Atlantic Ocean from the east, by the Pacific Ocean from the west and south. It has an overland border with South America continent, which runs along the state boundary between Panama and Colombia.

North American Continent is made up of 23 different countries and 9 dependent territories. Of the 23 countries that divide up the continent, Canada, and the United States comprise nearly 80% of the total land area. It is part of the super-continent referred to as “Americas” which is split into South America and North America. The countries of North America primarily speak Spanish or English with more than half of the countries being primarily Spanish speaking countries. Of all the land area on planet Earth, North America makes up approximately 17% of the total.

North America

List of Countries in North America

North American Countries


United States of America Washington, D.C.
Mexico Mexico City
Canada Ottawa
Guatemala Guatemala City
Cuba Havana
Dominican Republic Santo Domingo
Haiti Port-au-Prince
Honduras Tegucigalpa
El Salvador San Salvador
Nicaragua Managua
Costa Rica San José
Panama Panama City
Jamaica Kingston
Trinidad and Tobago Port of Spain
Bahamas Nassau
Belize Belmopan
Barbados Bridgetown
Saint Lucia Castries
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Kingstown
Antigua and Barbuda St. John’s
Dominica Roseau
Saint Kitts and Nevis Basseterre
Grenada St. George’s

Dependent Territories in North America

This list includes territories that are considered a dependent territory, area, or region. These territories generally do not have complete control over their political interests but often do have significant independence compared to the controlling countries political system. We have noted the country that each territory is linked to in parenthesis next to the name.

Dependent Territories Capitals
Puerto Rico (USA) San Juan
United States Virgin Islands (USA) Charlotte Amalie
Bermuda (UK) Hamilton
Greenland (Denmark) Nuuk
Cayman Islands (UK) George Town
Turks and Caicos Islands (UK) Cockburn Town
British Virgin Islands (UK) Road Town
Anguilla (UK) The Valley
Montserrat (UK) Plymouth, Brades