Punjab State Symbols

Punjab is a state of India, which is located in the northwestern part of the subcontinent. It is bounded by the Indian states of Jammu and Kashmir to the north, Himachal Pradesh to the northeast, Haryana to the south and southeast, and Rajasthan to the southwest and by the country of Pakistan to the west. Punjab in its present form came into existence on November 1, 1966, when most of its predominantly Hindi-speaking areas were separated to form the new state of Haryana. Chandigarh is the capital city of the state, within the Chandigarh union territory, is the joint capital of Punjab and Haryana.

Their principal language is Punjabi. The main religions of the Indian Punjab region are Sikhism and Hinduism. The main religion of the Pakistani Punjab region is Islam. The Punjab region has been inhabited by the Indus Valley Civilisation, Indo-Aryan peoples, and Indo-Scythians, and has seen numerous invasions by the Persians, Greeks, Kushans, Ghaznavids, Timurids, Mughals, Pashtuns, British, and others. Historic foreign invasions mainly targeted the most productive central region of the Punjab known as the Majha region, which is also the bedrock of Punjabi culture and traditions. The Punjab region is often referred to as the breadbasket in both India and Pakistan

Punjab State Symbols

Following are the State Symbols of Punjab State. Punjab State Government have revealed three symbols to be used in acceptable places and acceptable occasions to represent the state. These symbols the image of the state categorical its policy, tell concerning its wealth and virtues within the terms of Animal, Bird and Tree.

  • State Emblem: Ashoka lions, swords and ears of rice

Punjab emblem and seal

  • State Animal: Blackbuck (Antilope cervicapra)

black buck

  • State Bird: Baaz (Accipiter gentilis)

  • State Flower: Gladiolus (Gladiolus grandiflorus)

  • State Tree: Sheesham (Dalbergia sissoo)

Punjab State Symbols-Sheesham