South America Continent Countries

South America is a continent in the Western Hemisphere, mostly in the Southern Hemisphere, with a relatively small portion in the Northern Hemisphere. It may also be considered a subcontinent of the Americas, which is how it is viewed in the Spanish and Portuguese-speaking regions of the Americas.

It is bordered on the west by the Pacific Ocean and on the north and east by the Atlantic Ocean; North America and the Caribbean Sealie to the northwest.

It has an area of 17,840,000 square kilometers. Its population as of 2016 has been estimated at more than 420 million. South America ranks fourth in area after Asia, Africa, and North America and fifth in population after Asia, Africa, Europe, and North America. South America is divided up into 12 countries and 3 dependent territories.

South america

Countries in South America Continent

South American Countries

Capital City

Brazil Brasília
Colombia Bogotá
Argentina Buenos Aires
Venezuela Caracas
Peru Lima
Chile Santiago
Ecuador Quito
Bolivia La Paz and Sucre
Paraguay Asunción
Uruguay Montevideo
Guyana Georgetown
Suriname Paramaribo

List of Dependent Territories in South America

This list includes territories that are considered a dependent territory, area, or region. These territories generally do not have complete control over their political interests but often do have significant independence compared to the controlling countries political system. We have noted the country that each territory is linked to in parenthesis next to the name.

Dependent Territories Captial City
French Guiana (France) Cayenne (Préfecture)
Falkland Islands (UK) Stanley
South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands (UK) King Edward Point