Union Territories of India

What is a Union Territory?

A union territory is a type of administrative division in India which is ruled directly by the Central Government. The President is the constitutional head of Executive of the Union. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. Union territories of India have special rights and status due to their process of formation and development.

Union territories

Union Territories of India

There are 8 Union territories in India. Here is an explanation about all areas, populations, and capital.

1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Particulars Description
Area 8,249 sq. km
Population 4 lakh (Approximately)
Capital Port Blair
Languages Hindi, Nicobarese, Bengali, Tamil, Malayalam, Telugu

The Union Territory of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands is situated between 6° and 14° North Latitude and 92° and 94° East Longitude. The islands located north of 10° north latitude are known as Andaman Group of islands while islands located south of 10° north latitude are called Nicobar Group of Islands.

2. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu

Particulars Description
Area 491 sq km
Population 4 Lakhs (Approximately)
Capital Silvassa
Languages Gujarati, Hindi

From 1954 till 1961, the territory functioned almost independently by what was known as ” Free Dadra and Nagar Haveli Administration “. However, the territory was merged with the Indian Union on 11 August 1961, and since then, is being administered by the Government of India as a Union Territory.

3. Lakshadweep

Particulars Description
Area 32 sq. km
Population 64,429 ( Approximately )
Capital Kavaratti
Principal Languages Malayalam, Jeseri (Dweep Bhasha) and Mahal

Lakshadweep, a group of coral islands consists of 12 atolls, three reefs, and submerged sandbanks. Of the 27 islands, only 11 are inhabited. These lie scattered in the Arabian Sea about 280 km to 480 km off the Kerala coast.

4. Puducherry

Particulars Description
Area 479 sq km
Population 12,44,464 (Approximately)
Capital Puducherry
Principal Languages Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, English, and French

The territory comprises the former French establishment Puducherry, Karaikal, Mahe, and Yanam, which lie scattered in South India. Puducherry, the capital of the territory was once the original headquarters of the French in India. It is bounded on the east by the Bay of Bengal and on the three sides by Tamil Nadu. About 150 km south of Puducherry on the East Coast lies Karaikal. Mahe is situated on the Malabar coast on the Western Ghats surrounded by Kerala. It can be reached from Calicut Airport, which is 70 km from Mahe. Yanam is situated adjoining the East Godavari district of Andhra Pradesh and is about 200 km from Visakhapatnam airport.

5. NCT of Delhi

Particulars Description
Area 1,483 sq. km
Population 1,67,53,235 (Approx)
Capital Delhi
Principal Languages Hindi, Punjabi, Urdu & English

It was made a Union Territory in 1956. Lying in the northern part of the country, Delhi is surrounded by Haryana on all sides except the east, where it borders with Uttar Pradesh. The 69th Constitutional amendment is a milestone in Delhi’s history, as it got a Legislative Assembly with the enactment of the National Capital Territory Act, 1991.

6. Chandigarh

Particulars Description
Area 114 sq km
Population 10,54,686 (Approx)
Capital Chandigarh
Principal Languages Hindi, Punjabi, English

Chandigarh and the area surrounding it were constituted as a Union Territory on 1 November 1966. It serves as the joint capital of both Punjab and Haryana States. It is bound on North and West by Punjab and on the East and South by Haryana.

7. Ladakh

Ladakh became a Union Territory on 31st October 2019. The Union Territory of Ladakh comprises two districts namely Leh and Kargil. It is renowned for its remote mountain beauty and distinct culture. The UT of Ladakh shall comprise of two districts namely Leh and Kargil.

8. Jammu and Kashmir

Union Territories India
Capital Jammu ( winter ), Srinagar ( summer )
Area 222,236 sq.km
Languages Urdu, Dogri, Kashmiri, Pahari, Ladakhi, Balti, Gojri and Dari

The state of Jammu & Kashmir was divided into two union territories – Ladakh and J&K in August 2019.  Jammu & Kashmir was denoted as a union territory with a legislature of its own similar to Delhi and Puducherry. The special status provided to the Jammu and Kashmir based on Article 370 of the Constitution of India was withdrawn.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *