Who Wins 2011 World Cup?

2011 Cricket World Cup is the tenth international cricket world cup. It will be co-hosted by three South Asian countries. They are India, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka. All the matches will be played in the format of One Day International.

Totally 14 teams participate in this tournament. The tournament will start on February 19 and will be continued until April 2. The opening ceremony of the cricket world cup will take place in Bangladesh at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh. The opening ceremony is scheduled to happen on February 17.

All the matches will be played on Round Robin and Knock Out format. The 14 teams are selected from 104 entrant teams. There is a total of 49 matches to play in this tournament. There are 18 umpires and one reserve umpire to conduct the tournament.

Teams of 2011 Cricket World Cup

Group A

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Kenya
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Zimbabwe

Group B

  • Bangladesh
  • England
  • India
  • Ireland
  • Netherlands
  • South Africa
  • West Indies

Schedule of 2011 Cricket World Cup: The first match of group A will take place on 20 February. Four matches will be played at 9.30 and the rest of the matches will be played at 14.30. There are a total of 21 matches to play in this group. The first match of group B will be played on 19 February. Five matches will be played at 9.30 and the rest of the matches will be played at 14.30. There are collectively 21 matches to be played in this group.

The quarter-finals will be played on 23 March, 24 March, 25 March, and 26 March, between Group A1 Vs Group B3, Group A2 Vs Group B4, Group A4 Vs Group B2, and Group A3 Vs Group B1 respectively. The semi-finals will be played on 29 March and 30 March between Winners of 1st and 2nd Quarterfinals and Winners for 3rd and 4th Quarterfinals. The final match will be played on April 2 at 2.30 PM.

Final Match of 2011 World Cup

On 2 April 2011 (D/N)
Sri Lanka
274/6 (50 overs)
277/4 (48.2 overs)
India won by 6 wickets
Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

The final was played on 2 April between India and Sri Lanka at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. India has crowned champions after winning by six wickets with only 10 balls remaining. India captain MS Dhoni was named man of the match after an unbeaten, match-winning inning of 91 runs off 79 balls, And the Player Of The Series is Yuvraj Singh. After the match, the Indian players paid tribute to Sachin Tendulkar, who was playing in his last World Cup. The final had a viewership of about 997 million people all over the world.

2011 World Cup India Team

  1. MS Dhoni – wicketkeeper and captain.
  2. Virender Sehwag – batsman.
  3. Ravichandran Ashwin – All – Rounder.
  4. Piyush Chawla – All – Rounder.
  5. Gautam Gambhir – batsman.
  6. Harbhajan Singh – off-spinner.
  7. Zaheer Khan – fast bowler.
  8. Virat Kohli – batsman.
  9. Sreesanth – fast bowler.
  10. Ashish Nehra – seamer.
  11. Munaf Patel – seamer.
  12. Yusuf Pathan – allrounder.
  13. Suresh Raina – batsman.
  14. Sachin Tendulkar – batsman.
  15. Yuvraj Singh – batsman.

India v Sr2011 Cricket World Cup Final World Cup FinalIndia v Sri Lanka - 2011 ICC World Cup Final

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *