Skip to content

About Pincode in India

Pincode of any particular location is useful to identify or trace a particular location. India is the largest country, it may have many locations and districts. So Pincodes are using tracing particular location.

What is Pincode?

India is the largest country with so many cities, towns, and villages that finding the right place or person can be a real challenge for the Indian Postal Service. To make the process of delivering letters and parcels more efficient, the Indian Postal service introduced the 6 digit Postal Index Number (PIN) Code on 15 August 1972. The Indian Postal Service has designated 9 specific PIN regions across the country, out of which 8 are geographical regions and the 9th is reserved for the Indian Army.

Structure of Pin Code (Postal Index Number)

Each digit number has a specific meaning. The first digit designates which is the overall geographical region, and the first 2 digits designate the postal circle or sub-region. The third digit designates the sorting district. Thus, the first 3 digits collectively designate the postal district while the last 3 digits indicate the specific post office within the district.

Here’s an example of decoding your pin code. The pin code is 456001.


Postal zones in India

There are nine postal zones in India, including eight regional zones and one functional zone for the Indian Army. The first digit of a PIN indicates the zone and is allocated over the 9 zones as follows:

1st digit of the PIN Zone States or Union Territories
1 North Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Chandigarh
2 North Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
3 West Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
4 West Maharashtra, Goa, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
5 South Telangana, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka
6 South Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry, Lakshadweep
7 East West Bengal, Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman, and Nicobar Islands, Assam, Sikkim
8 East Bihar, Jharkhand
9 APS Army Postal Service (APS), Field Post Office (FPO)