Airports In India

Airports in India managed by the Airport Authority of India, It is the body that manages both the International Airport in India as well as the Domestic Airports in India. Airports Authority of India (AAI) manages a total of 125 Airports, which includes 81 Domestic Airports, 11 International Airports, 25 Civil Enclaves at Defence Airfields, and 08 Customs Airports. AAI is responsible for creating, maintaining,  upgrading, and managing civil aviation infrastructure in India and works under the Ministry of Civil Aviation.

Airports in india

International Airports in India

International Airport Name & Code Location Type
Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport – BOM Mumbai, Maharashtra Commercial Airport
Kempegowda International Airport – BLR Bangalore, Karnataka Commercial Airport
Chennai International Airport – MAA Chennai, Tamil Nadu Commercial Airport
Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport – CCU Kolkata, West Bengal Commercial Airport
Chaudhary Charan Singh International Airport – LKO Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh Commercial Airport
Sri Guru Ram Dass Jee International Airport – ATQ Amritsar, Punjab Commercial Airport
Visakhapatnam International Airport – VTZ Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh Civil Enclave
Kannur International Airport – CNN Kannur, Kerala Commercial Airport
Surat International Airport – STV Surat, Gujarat Commercial Airport
Devi Ahilya Bai Holkar Airport – IDR Indore, Madhya Pradesh Commercial Airport
Cochin International Airport – COK Kochi, Kerala Commercial Airport
Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel International Airport – AMD Ahmedabad, Gujarat Commercial Airport
Indira Gandhi International Airport – DEL Delhi Commercial Airport
Dabolim Airport – GOI Goa Civil Enclave
Pune Airport – PNQ Pune, Maharashtra Civil Enclave
Thiruvananthapuram International Airport – TRV Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala Commercial  Airport
Coimbatore International Airport Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu Commercial  Airport
Calicut International Airport – CCJ Calicut, Kerala Commercial  Airport
Biju Patnaik International Airport – BBI Bhubaneswar, Odisha Commercial  Airport
Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi International Airport – GAU Guwahati, Assam Civil Enclave
Lal Bahadur Shastri International Airport – VNS Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh Commercial Airport
Rajiv Gandhi International Airport- HYD Hyderabad, Telangana Commercial Airport
Tiruchirappalli International Airport – TRZ Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu Commercial Airport
Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar International Airport – NAG Nagpur, Maharashtra Commercial Airport
Sheikhul Aalam International Airport – SXR Srinagar, Jammu, and Kashmir Civil Enclave
Imphal International Airport Imphal, Meghalaya Commercial Airport
Jaipur International Airport – JAI Jaipur, Rajasthan Commercial Airport
Madurai Airport Madurai, Tamil Nadu Customs, Commercial
Bagdogra International Airport – IXB Siliguri, West Bengal Commercial Airport
Jay Prakash Narayan International Airport – PAT Patna, Bihar Commercial (Restricted International Flights, Customs)
Mangalore International Airport – IXE Mangalore, Karnataka Commercial Airport
Chandigarh International Airport – IXC Chandigarh Civil Enclave (Restricted International Flights, Customs)

International Airports in India

  • There are 34 operational International Airports in India.
  • Indira Gandhi International Airport is the largest International airport constructed in 5495 acres.
  • Cochin International Airport, Kerala is the first international airport in India developed under Public-Private Partnership Model.
  • Calicut International Airport, Kerala is recently added to the list of International Airports in India.
  • Juhu Aerodrome, Mumbai is the First and oldest Airport in India founded in 1928.
  • The airport of Trichy is the smallest airport in India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *