ICC World Cup Winners

The first ICC World Cup was contested in England in 1975 as a series of one-day matches of 60 overs per side. It was held outside England, in India and Pakistan, for the first time in 1987. Australia is the country that won the World Cup more than 5 times now.

List of ICC World Cup Winners

Year Winners Runners Host Finals Venue
1975 West Indies Australia England Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
1979 West Indies England England Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
1983 India West Indies England Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
1987 Australia England India & Pakistan Eden Gardens, Kolkata
1992 Pakistan England Australia & New Zealand Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
1996 Sri Lanka Australia India, Pakistan & Sri Lanka Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore
1999 Australia Pakistan England Lord’s Cricket Ground, London
2003 Australia India Australia Wanderers, Johannesburg
2007 Australia Sri Lanka West Indies Kensington Oval, Bridgetown
2011 India Sri Lanka India Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
2015 Australia New Zealand Australia Melbourne Cricket Ground
2019 England New Zealand England Lord’s, London
2023 India

ICC World Cup Winners

Man of the match in the final and Man of the tournament
Man of the Tournament started in 1992 in the ICC World Cup

Year Man of the match in final Man of the tournament
1975 Clive Lloyd
102 runs
1979 Viv Richards
1983 Mohinder Amarnath
3/12 and 26
1987 David Boon
75 runs
1992 Wasim Akram
33 and 3/39
Martin Crowe
456 runs
1996 Aravinda de Silva
107* and 3/42
Sanath Jayasuriya
221 runs and 7 wickets
1999 Shane Warne
Lance Klusener
281 runs and 17 wickets
2003 Ricky Ponting
Sachin Tendulkar
673 runs and 2 wickets
2007 Adam Gilchrist
Glenn Mcgrath
26 wickets
2011 Mahendra Singh Dhoni
Yuvraj Singh
362 runs and 15 wickets
2015 James Faulkner
Mitchell Starc
22 wickets
2019 Ben Stokes


Kane Williamson

578 runs