Indian Nobel Prize Winners

Nobel prize is a set of international awards presented to people for outstanding contributions in the field of cultural, academic, and scientific advances. These sets of awards are presented by the Swedish and Norweigan institutions. It was first awarded in 1901.

The various fields of recognition are:

  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Medicine
  • Literature
  • Peace
  • Economic Sciences

The set of communities associated with the awards presentation are:

  • Nobel Assembly at the Karolinska Institute (Physiology or Medicine)
  • Norwegian Nobel Committee (Peace)
  • Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (Chemistry, Economic Sciences, Physics)
  • Swedish Academy (Literature)

Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian to receive a Nobel Prize in the year 1913 for Literature. Post that, many eminent personalities have been listed as Nobel Prize winners from India.

Nobel Prize Winners

List of Indian Nobel Prize Laureates

The list of Indian Nobel Laureates is given below:

Indian Citizenship

Nobel Laureates Field Year
Rabindranath Tagore Literature 1913
C. V Raman Physics 1930
Mother Teresa Peace 1979
Amartya Sen Economic Sciences 1998
Kailash Satyarthi Peace 2014

Born in India but Different Citizenship

Nobel Laureates Field Year Nationality
Har Gobind Khorana Physiology/Medicine 1968 United States
Subrahmanyam Chandrasekhar Physics 1983 United States
Venkatraman Ramakrishnan Chemistry 2009 United Kingdom

United States

Abhijit Banerjee Economic Sciences 2019 United States

Indian Residents at the time of being awarded & Non-Indian Citizenship

Nobel Laureates Field Year Nationality
Ronald Ross Physiology/Medicine 1902 United Kingdom
Rudyard Kipling Literature 1907 United Kingdom
Tenzing Gyatso (14th Dalai Lama) Peace 1989 Tibet

Facts of Nobel Prize

  • Marie Curie is the first woman to receive the prize in the field of Physics.
  • Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian to receive this prize.
  • C V Raman received in Physics.
  • Mother Theresa was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.
  • Amartya Sen was honored with Prize in Economics.
  • Venkatraman Ramakrishnan received in Chemistry.
  • Har Gobind Khorana received in Physiology or Medicine.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *