IPL (Indian Premier League)

The IPL (Indian Premier League) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league, contested by eight teams based out of eight different Indian cities. The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007. It is usually held between March and May of every year and has an exclusive window in the ICC Future Tours Programme.

It is the most-attended cricket league in the world and in 2014 was ranked sixth by average attendance among all sports leagues. In 2010, the IPL became the first sporting event in the world to be broadcast live on YouTube. The brand value of the IPL in 2019 was US$6.7 billion, according to Duff & Phelps. According to BCCI, the 2015 IPL season contributed US$160 million to the GDP of the Indian economy.

On 13 September 2007, the BCCI announced the launch of a franchise-based Twenty20 cricket competition called Indian Premier League whose first season was slated to start in April 2008, in a “high-profile ceremony” in New Delhi. BCCI vice-president Lalit Modi said to be the mastermind behind the idea of the IPL, spelled out the details of the tournament including its format, the prize money, franchise revenue system, and squad composition rules. It was also revealed that the IPL would be run by a seven-man governing council composed of former India players and BCCI officials and that the top two teams of the IPL would qualify for that year’s Champions League Twenty20.


Winners of IPL 2008-2021

Year IPL Winners Captain of Team Runner-up
2019 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings
2018 Chennai Super Kings M S Dhoni Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Rising Pune Supergiant
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad David Warner Royal Challengers Bangalore
2015 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Gautam Gambhir Kings XI Punjab
2013 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Chennai Super Kings
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Gautam Gambhir Chennai Super Kings
2011 Chennai Super Kings M S Dhoni Royal Challengers Bangalore
2010 Chennai Super Kings M S Dhoni Mumbai Indians
2009 Deccan Chargers Adam Gilchrist Royal Challengers Bangalore
2008 Rajasthan Royals Shane Warne Chennai Super Kings

IPL Prize Money

The 2019 season of the IPL offered total prize money of US$7.0 million, with the winning team netting US$2.8 million. The first and second runners up received US$1.8 million and US$1.2 million, respectively, And the fourth-placed team also winning US$1.2 million. The other teams are not awarded any prize money. The IPL rules mandate that half of the prize money must be distributed among the players.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *