National Symbols of India

National Symbols of India in Tabular Form

National Symbols of India can Be explained as Follows:

Title Symbol
National Emblem Lion Capital of Ashoka at Sarnath
National anthem Jana Gana Mana
National Song Vande Mataram
National Language None (Hindi is the official language)
National Calendar Saka Calendar
National Game None (Hockey is not the national game)
National Fruit Mango
National Tree Indian banyan
National Flower Lotus
National River The Ganga
National animal Royal Bengal Tiger
National Heritage Animal Indian Elephant
National Aquatic Animal River Dolphin
National Bird Peacock
National Reptile King Cobra
National Currency Indian Rupee
National Day Republic day 26 January

National Symbols of India

  • National Emblem of India: The National Emblem of India is adopted from the Lion Capital of Ashoka at Sarnath. The Emblem is adopted on 26 January 1950.  It consists of four Lions standing back to back in a circular shape. Below the lion’s Horse on the left and the bull on the right of the Ashoka Chakra. The four lions (one hidden from view) symbolizes power, courage, pride, and confidence. The motto ‘Satyameva Jayate’ inscribed below the emblem in Devanagari script means ‘truth alone triumphs’.

National Emblem

  • National Currency of India: Udaya Kumar Dharmalingam is the designer of the Indian rupee symbol. His design was selected from among five shortlisted symbols. The Indian rupee symbol is derived from the Devanagari consonant “र” (ra) and the Latin letter “R” was adopted in 2010. The Indian rupee is named after silver coin, which is called rupiya. It was first issued by Sultan Sher Shah Suri in the 16th century and later the Mughal Empire continued it. The flow of this currency is controlled by the Reserve Bank of India.

National symbol-currency

  • The National Tree of India: Indian Banyan is the national tree of India. The scientific name is Ficus bengalensis. The reason for choosing Banyan is it symbolizes unity by its huge structure and deep roots.

National tree Indian Banyan

  • National Flower of India: Lotus is the National flower of India. The Scientific name is Nelumbo Nucifera Gaertn. It is the flower of goddess Laxmi and symbolizes wealth and prosperity. The lotus flower is a symbol of purity. The message is how dirty your surroundings you should be pure.

National flower Lotus

  • National Fruit of India: Mango is the national fruit of India. In India Mango is considered as King of fruits. In India, We can find over 100 varieties of mangoes, in different sizes, shapes, and colors.

National symbols-Mango

  • National River of India: Ganga is the national river of India. The Ganga was declared as the national river of India on November 4, 2008.

National symbols-Ganga

  • National Bird of India: Peacock is the national bird of India. It was declared as the national bird of India in 1963. The reason for choosing peacock as a national bird was because it is a part of Indian customs and culture. Peacock is a symbol of grace and beauty.

National bird Peacock

  • National Animal of India: Bengal tiger is a national animal in India. It symbolizes the Power, Strength, Elegance, Alertness, and Intelligence of the nation. The lion was the national animal of India before the tiger. Till 1972, Lion was the National Animal of India.

National animal Bengal Tiger

  • National Heritage Animal of India: On October 22, 2010, Environment Ministry of India has declared the elephant as a National Heritage Animal.

National symbols-heritage animal Elephant

  • National Reptile of India: King Cobra is the national reptile of India. The Scientific name is Ophiophagus hannah.

National Reptile King Cobra