Skip to content

Difference Between Red Blood Cells and White Blood Cells

There is more difference between red blood cells and white blood cells. They are explained below in the tabular form:
Red Blood Cells and White Blood Cells

Red Blood Cells (RBC) White Blood Cells (WBC)
They are called Erythrocytes. White Blood Cells are called Leucocytes.
RBCs have a bi-concave disc shape WBCs have an irregular shape.
Size varies from 6 – 8 µm in diameter. Size varies from 12 – 17 µm in diameter.
The lifespan of RBC is about 120 days. The lifespan of WBC is around 12-20 days after which, they are destroyed in the lymphatic system
Red blood cells do not have a nucleus on maturity. WBCs are characterized by the presence of a large central nucleus.
Due to the presence of haemoglobin, these cells appear red in colour. These cells are colourless, as they do not have any pigment.
Only one type of RBC exists. Different types of WBCs are found in the blood such as neutrophils, B lymphocytes, T lymphocytes, monocytes, basophils, eosinophils.
They help in the transport of respiratory gases to different parts of the human body They help in producing antibodies to fight against disease-causing microbes.
RBCs are produced in the red bone marrow These cells are produced in the red bone marrow, lymph nodes, and spleen.
The components of red blood cells are haemoglobin. The components of white blood cells are antibodies with the presence of MHC (major histocompatibility complex) antigen cell markers.
These cells make up around 36-50% of human blood. They make up around 1% of the human blood.
RBC count: 5 million/ mm³ of blood. WBC count: 7000–8000/mm³ of blood.
The process of formation of RBC is known as erythropoiesis. The process of formation of WBC is known as leukopoiesis.
These cells move between the cardiovascular systems. These cells move between the cardiovascular and lymphatic systems.
Low count of RBCs results in Anaemia. Low count of WBCs results in Leukopenia.