Skip to content

Software Development Life Cycle (SDLC)

Software Development Life Cycle is process of defining tasks performed at each step in the software development process. SDLC is a structure followed by a development team within the software organization. It consists of a detailed plan to develop, maintain and replace specific software. The life cycle defines a methodology for improving the quality of software and the overall development process. SDLC aims to produce a high-quality software that meets or exceeds customer expectations, reaches completion within times and cost estimates.

Software Development Life Cycle

Software Development Life Cycle Process

  1. Planning: The most important parts of software development, requirement gathering or requirement analysis are usually done by the most skilled and experienced software engineers in the organization. After the requirements are gathered from the client, a scope document is created in which the scope of the project is determined and documented.
  2. Implementation: The software engineers start writing the code according to the client’s requirements.
  3. Testing: This is the process of finding defects or bugs in the created software.
  4. Documentation: Every step in the project is documented for future reference and for the improvement of the software in the development process. The design documentation may include writing the application programming interface (API).
  5. Deployment: The software is deployed after it has been approved for release.
  6. Maintaining: Once the system is deployed, and customers start using the developed system, following 3 activities occur
    • Bug fixing – bugs are reported because of some scenarios which are not tested at all
    • Upgrade – Upgrading the application to the newer versions of the Software
    • Enhancement – Adding some new features into the existing software

SDLC Models

There are various software development life cycle models defined and designed which are followed during the software development process. These models are also referred as Software Development Process Models”. Each process model follows a Series of steps unique to its type to ensure success in the process of software development.

1. Waterfall Model:

2. Spiral Model: This model adopts the best features of the prototyping model and the waterfall model. The spiral methodology is a combination of rapid prototyping and concurrency in design and development activities.

4. V-Model: In this type of SDLC model testing and the development, the phase is planned in parallel. So, there are verification phases on the side and the validation phase on the other side. V-Model joins by Coding phase.

5. Big Bang Model: 

Big bang model is focusing on all types of resources in software development and coding, with no or very little planning. The requirements are understood and implemented when they come.

This model works best for small projects with smaller size development team which are working together. It is also useful for academic software development projects. It is an ideal model where requirements is either unknown or final release date is not given.